Suitable for 12 - 13 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Save €1.29
Offer price: 9.10 Switch to £
RRP: €10.39
gbp prices
Save £0.99
Offer price: £7.00 Switch to
RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.40 to spend on books Orders of £20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

A stunning novel about being brave enough to be true to yourself, and learning to find joy even when times are unimaginably dark.Three days. Two girls. One life-changing music festival. Toni is grieving the loss of her roadie father and needing to figure out where her life will go from here – and she’s desperate to get back to loving music. Olivia is a hopeless romantic whose heart has just taken a beating (again) and is beginning to feel like she’ll always be a square peg in a round hole – but the Farmland Music and Arts Festival is a chance to find a place where she fits. The two collide and it feels like something like kismet when a bond begins to form. But when something goes wrong and the festival is sent into a panic, Olivia and Toni will find that they need each other (and music) more than they ever imagined.

  • A joyous, Black girl rom-com about finding love and being true to yourself
  • Explores the power of communal joy to bring people together, even in the most uncertain of times
  • Leah Johnson’s You Should See Me in a Crown was the very first YA pick for Reese Witherspoon’s book club: ‘[A]super funny, joyful story that’ll have you reliving your high school prom days!’

Our August 2021 Teen Book of the Month

For my August Teen Book of the Month I have chosen Rise to the Sun by the incredible Leah Johnson. Toni is grieving the loss of her father and figuring out where her life will go from here. Olivia is a hopeless romantic whose heart has just taken a beating and is beginning to feel like she’ll always be a square peg in a round hole. The Farmland Music Festival is where they both feel at home, and when the two collide it feels like fate. But when something goes wrong and the festival is sent into a panic, Toni and Olivia will find that they need each other more than they ever imagined.

Rise to the Sun is a stunning novel about being brave enough to be true to yourself, and learning to find joy even when times are unimaginably dark. A joyous, LGTBQ+ comedy from an Own Voices author, perfect for fans of Simon James Green, Nicola Yoon and Patrice Lawrence. Johnson’s debut novel You Should See Me in a Crown was a phenomenal breakthrough of 2020 and received international acclaim.

Product Details

Catalogue number

23 in EU Teen September 2021 and 431 in EU Teen November 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702309502

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

July 1st, 2021

Other details

  • 336 pages

Condition

New

UK edition

Author/Illustrator

Leah Johnson

Photo of Leah Johnson

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought