They Wish They Were Us (the gripping, read-in-one-sitting new murder mystery)

by Jessica Goodman (author)

Suitable for 15 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Save €1.33
Offer price: 9.30 Switch to £
RRP: €10.63
gbp prices
Save £0.99
Offer price: £7.00 Switch to
RRP: £7.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets £1.40 to spend on books Orders of £20 or more will earn 20% of your order value back in Scholastic Rewards for your school.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

Gossip Girl meets One of Us is Lying in this tense, taut, unputdownable murder mystery. In Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive boutiques to the manicured beaches, to the pressed uniforms of Jill Newman and her friends, looks perfect. But as Jill found out three years ago, nothing is as it seems. Jill’s best friend, the brilliant, dazzling Shaila Arnold, was killed by her boyfriend. After that dark night on the beach, Graham confessed, the case was closed, and Jill tried to move on. Now, it’s Jill’s senior year and she’s determined to make it her best yet. After all, she’s a senior and a Player – a member of Gold Coast Prep’s exclusive, not-so-secret secret society. Senior Players have the best parties, highest grades and the admiration of the entire school. This is going to be Jill’s year. She’s sure of it. But when Jill starts getting texts proclaiming Graham’s innocence, her dreams of the perfect senior year start to crumble. If Graham didn’t kill Shaila, who did? Jill vows to find out, but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future, in jeopardy.

In development as major HBO Max television show THE PLAYERS TABLE

Our March 2021 Teen Book of the Month

My YA March Book of the Month has to be They Wish They Were Us. Set in an elite American private school, Jill Newman and her friends are the most popular, envied students in school. They’re also Players; members of an exclusive no-so-secret secret society, that host the best parties, get the best grades and have the brightest futures ahead of them. But not all is as it seems, as an anonymous text reveals to Jill that her best friend wasn’t murdered by the boyfriend who confessed three years ago, but someone else…

This gripping debut from Jessica Goodman is already a bestseller in the US, and it’s easy to see why. You are guaranteed to read this murder thriller in one sitting as you race with the characters to solve the mystery before it’s too late. With an added edge of feminism and classism, They Wish They Were Us is so much more than a “whodunnit”. Perfect for fans of Karen McManus’s One of Us is Lying and Holly Jackson’s A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. Read the book now ahead of the series The Player’s Table coming next year, with Halsey making her screen debut!

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

224 in EU Teen September 2021

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702308031

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

March 4th, 2021

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.8; Upper years; 13.0 points

Other details

  • 336 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought

  • The Beach House The Beach House
    eur prices
    Offer price: €7.30
    RRP: €7.97
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £5.50
    RRP: £5.99
  • The Fault in Our Stars The Fault in Our Stars
    You have earned 4 stars of a maximum 5
    (1)
    eur prices
    Price: €10.15
    gbp prices
    Price: £7.99
  • Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children #1: Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
    eur prices
    Price: €11.40
    gbp prices
    Price: £8.99
  • The Skin I'm In The Skin I'm In

    New

    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • Divergent Divergent
    eur prices
    Price: €10.15
    gbp prices
    Price: £7.99
  • One of Us is Lying One of Us is Lying
    eur prices
    Price: €10.15
    gbp prices
    Price: £7.99
  • Orangeboy Orangeboy

    Award-winning

    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • Toffee Toffee

    Award-winning author

    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • Loveless Loveless
    You have earned 5 stars of a maximum 5
    (1)
    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • Punching the Air Punching the Air
    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • A House Without Walls A House Without Walls

    Award-winning author

    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • The Supreme Lie The Supreme Lie

    Award-winning author

    eur prices
    Offer price: €10.15
    RRP: €11.96
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.65
    RRP: £8.99
  • How to Be Me How to Be Me
    You have earned 5 stars of a maximum 5
    (1)
    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • The Gilded Ones The Gilded Ones

    Editor's pick

    eur prices
    Offer price: €10.15
    RRP: €11.96
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.65
    RRP: £8.99
  • The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel) The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel)

    Editor's pick

    eur prices
    Offer price: €10.15
    RRP: €11.96
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.65
    RRP: £8.99
  • Harrow Lake Harrow Lake
    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • My Brother's Name is Jessica My Brother's Name is Jessica

    Award-winning author

    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • Cinderella Is Dead Cinderella Is Dead
    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • When We Got Lost In Dreamland When We Got Lost In Dreamland

    Editor's pick

    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • You Are a Champion You Are a Champion
    You have earned 5 stars of a maximum 5
    (1)
    eur prices
    Offer price: €11.30
    RRP: €13.29
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £8.50
    RRP: £9.99
  • The Star Outside My Window The Star Outside My Window

    Award-winning author

    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • Frankenstein Scholastic Classics: Frankenstein
    eur prices
    Offer price: €7.30
    RRP: €7.97
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £5.50
    RRP: £5.99
  • A Monster Calls A Monster Calls

    Award-winning team

    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • The House with Chicken Legs The House with Chicken Legs
    You have earned 5 stars of a maximum 5
    (3)
    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • Can You See Me? Can You See Me?
    You have earned 5 stars of a maximum 5
    (2)
    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • What We're Scared Of What We're Scared Of

    Editor's pick

    eur prices
    Price: €10.15
    gbp prices
    Price: £7.99
  • The Black Flamingo The Black Flamingo
    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • Clap When You Land Clap When You Land

    Award-winning author

    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99
  • 1984 Scholastic Classics: 1984
    eur prices
    Offer price: €8.60
    RRP: €9.30
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £6.45
    RRP: £6.99
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    You have earned 5 stars of a maximum 5
    (2)
    eur prices
    Offer price: €9.30
    RRP: €10.63
    gbp prices
    Offer price: £7.00
    RRP: £7.99