We are continuing to fulfil all orders whilst rigorously following the safety advice of the government and Public Health England but due to the current situation you may experience longer delivery times than usual. If your delivery is going to a school and it’s closed or you need to make any adjustments to your delivery please contact us at intschool@scholastic.co.uk. Don’t forget that you can also run your Book Club online. remove

Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 8 - 12 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

1 review

Delivery information

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Would you rather fly on your umbrella than hide from the rain? Read this! When Mary Poppins arrives on a gust of the East Wind and slides up the banister, Jane and Michael’s lives are transformed beyond belief. Mary is nothing like other nannies. She flies around on a talking umbrella. And she takes them on incredible, magical journeys! They go to a funfair hidden in a pavement picture. They visit strange Uncle Andrew, who sails up to the ceiling when he laughs! Soon they can’t imagine life without Mary. But she’ll only stay until the wind changes…

  • The classic book which inspired the Disney film
  • Look out for the new film, Mary Poppins Returns!
  • A heartwarming tale of magic and following dreams
  • Perfect for fans of Ballet Shoes and Paddington

“Absolutely alive, and aglint with magic.” Walter de la Mare

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780007286416

Publisher

HarperCollins

Date published

November 3rd, 2008

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 6.1; Middle years; 6.0 points

Other details
  • 192 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

  1. Motherof2
    on 19 December 2018

    Mary Poppin The Original Story

    Beautifully written but the personality of Mary Poppins charachter was a drastically different than the P.L. Traveler book series. Excellent opportunity to show students the reason why you should always read the book as well as watch the movie. The stories of Mary and the children's adventures never end!

Add a review

What kids think

  1. Cyrilthecat
    on 23 March 2018

    This is a great classic! Would recommend to a friend!

    5out of 5
  2. book4
    on 19 April 2014

    this book is great but not like the movie i was really sad about jane and michal because there family does not thinks or cares about them you better read it.

    5out of 5
  3. crazykitty
    on 9 March 2014

    Both the book and movie are really good. loved it

  4. Roodieroo
    on 9 March 2014

    I love the book and the film there so good

  5. AngelofDeath
    on 7 March 2014

    This book is a classic. I read it when i was young and in my opinion the book is better than the movie.

  6. Roxy5
    on 6 March 2014

    I love this film and I love reading so this book brings them both together.

    5out of 5
  7. books2000
    on 6 March 2014

    its good

  8. Spidergirl
    on 5 March 2014

    love it and reminds me of the movie

    4out of 5
  9. maithany
    on 5 March 2014

    I heard good things about this book

  10. stupendousteen
    on 5 March 2013

    I adore this book. Mary is vain and crabby and a bit of a mystic, and bizarre things happen when she is around

    5out of 5
  11. Hermione2010
    on 18 October 2010

    For once the book is just as good as the film!! Or is the film better?? I’m not sure, but I’d read the book first as the book doesn’ seem as good after.

  12. asin3
    on 21 January 2009

    This a very good book because its very interesting

    5out of 5