Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 11 - 13 years

eur prices
Price: 7.65 Switch to £
gbp prices
Save £1.24
Offer price: £5.75 Switch to
RRP: £6.99
Product ordering
  • Schools earn Scholastic Rewards when parents or staff order from us. If you work at a school you can use Rewards to buy books and resources for your classroom or library. Find out how to use Scholastic Rewards

Buy this and your school gets €1.53 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Felix is struggling at school. His ADHD makes things tricky, and his grades are slipping. People keep telling him to try harder. But he just can’t, okay? And now Mum wants Felix to spend his free time with Granddad. Ugh. Felix can’t think of anything worse. Granddad has been seriously grumpy since Grandma died. Plus, he’s always trying to teach Felix chess. BORING. Who cares that it’s entertained people for 1500 years? It’s pure torment for Felix’s scatty brain. But in fact, this reluctant hero has everything to play for. What next? Chess champions? Check mates?

  • By the Sainsbury’s Prize-winning author of The Bubble Boy
  • An uplifting celebration of chess and intergenerational ties
  • Weaves in a compelling backstory about a Cold War mystery
  • For fans of Louis Sachar and Time Travelling with a Hamster
  • Stewart Foster also wrote All the Things That Could Go Wrong

“Funny and heartfelt with a cunning twist. Stewart Foster is a grandmaster.” Ross Welford

“An inspirational underdog story and a chilling mystery!” David Solomons

Product Details

Catalogue number

493 in EU Teen September 2019 and 8249 in ISBC EU Sec Rewards 2019/20

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781471172236

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books

Date published

June 6th, 2019

Other details
  • 352 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought