Meet Me in Mumbai by Sabina Khan (author)

Suitable for 14 - 18 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 9.95 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.65 Switch to
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.99 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

A novel in two acts – told eighteen years apart – gives voice to both mother (Ayesha) and daughter (Mira) after an unplanned teen pregnancy led Ayesha to place Mira up for adoption. Coming to the US to study, Ayesha is swept up in a whirlwind romance with Suresh – an Indian boy who reminds her of home. Mere months away from starting university, she falls pregnant and finds herself alone. She makes the difficult decision to hide her pregnancy and put her daughter up for adoption, before returning to India. Years later, seventeen-year-old Mira Fuller-Jensen has had a comfortable childhood but has never felt quite like she fit in their majority white community. All she knows is that her mums adopted her when she was born and that her biological mother was a student who went back to India. When she comes across letters addressed to her from her birth mother, she sees a way to finally capture that feeling of belonging. Her mother writes that if Mira can forgive her for having to give her up, she should find a way to travel to India for her eighteenth birthday and meet her. Mira knows she’ll always regret it if she doesn’t go. But is she actually ready for what she will learn?

  • Perfect for fans of Sabina Khan’s other books Zara Hossain is Here and The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali
  • Deals with relatable teen issues and portrays the intersection of teen pregnancy with Muslim and Indian culture
  • Compelling dual perspectives – Ayesha is brave and loving, Mira is curious but lost and both make engaging narrators

Our November 2022 Teen Book of the Month

Our Teen book of the month is Meet Me in Mumbai from author Sabina Khan. This is a novel told in two acts – eighteen years apart – that gives voice to both mother (Ayesha) and daughter (Mira) after an unplanned teen pregnancy leads Ayesha to place Mira up for adoption.

Meet Me in Mumbai is a highly compelling read that deals with relatable teen issues and portrays the intersection of teen pregnancy with Muslim and Indian culture.

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+

Product Details

Catalogue number

984 in EU Primary May 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702319433

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

September 1st, 2022

Other details

  • 320 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought