North and the Only One New by Vashti Hardy (author) (UK edition)

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 9.10 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.00 Switch to
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.82 to spend on books

This item has 1 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 1/5 from 1 rating

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

From the award-winning author of The Brightstorm Chronicles, Vashti Hardy, comes a powerful new story set in a surprising world filled with action, adventure and big questions about family and what it means to be human. Perfect for readers aged 9+ and for fans of Ross Welford and Piers Torday.

Twelve-year-old Rose can’t remember anything before last week, when she woke up not knowing her own name, her own house, or or even her own mother. The only thing Rose recognized was her puppy, North.

But Mother patiently explained everything – well, not everything. Not the real-feeling dreams Rose has about a mysterious forest she half-recognizes. Or why she is not allowed to stray beyond the garden, out into Luminelle, the vast city surrounding them.

Mother is kind and helpful, but Rose can’t shake the feeling that something’s not right. Or maybe it’s everything that’s not right?

But then, when Rose flees to the outside world with North, it quickly becomes clear to Rose that she is different. And for reasons she doesn’t understand, she’s dangerous.

On an unforgettable journey of discovery, Rose uncovers life-altering truths about the city she’s in, the people around her … and ultimately herself.
  • An action-packed adventure filled with warmth and humour, this story will expand your mind – and your heart
  • Tackling big questions such as: What does it mean to be human? What does it mean to be family?
  • By the award-winning author of The Brightstorm Chronicles, Vashti Hardy

Our May 2024 Ages 9-10 Book of the Month

Our Book of the Month for age 9+ is North and the Only One, a stunning new novel from Vashti Hardy, author of The Brightstorm Chronicles. Twelve-year-old Rose can’t remember anything before last week. The only thing she recognized when she woke up was her puppy, North. Mother tells her not to stray beyond the garden out into the city of Luminelle, but Rose can’t shake the feeling that something, or everything, isn’t right. When Rose flees to the outside world with North it quickly becomes clear that she is not only different, but she’s dangerous.

This powerful and original new story is set in a surprising world filled with action, adventure and big questions about family and what it means to be human. Vashti Hardy’s writing is full of warmth and humour and Rose’s journey of discovery about herself will expand reader’s hearts and minds. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford and Piers Torday.

Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+
Emma – Book Club Editor, Ages 7-11+

Product Details

Catalogue number

37 in EU Primary Summer 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702312274

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

May 9th, 2024

Other details

  • 352 pages

Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought