The Elemental Detectives Award-winning author by Patrice Lawrence (author)

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 9.10 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.00 Switch to
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.82 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

“A beautifully written book, bristling with magic … I loved it.” Cressida Cowell, Children’s Laureate & author of How to Train Your DragonA stunningly imagined, action-packed fantasy adventure for fans of Nevermoor, Neverwhere and Mortal Engines, from bestselling and award-winning author Patrice Lawrence. Step into a London lit up by the Elemental spirits: the fiery Dragons, the airy Fumis, the watery Chads and the earthbound Magogs. But humans have been causing chaos for centuries, trampling through the landscape trailing noise, mess and pollution. What if the Elements could slow down this new world… or stop it all together? The revenge-fuelled Shepherdess, who moves between the everyday and the supernatural London worlds, is the perfect weapon. She brings a sleeping sickness down on the city with the destruction of society in her sights. Marisee and Robert are the Elemental Detectives chasing the clues to avoid catastrophe: they must face the ghosts of Hyde Park, the monstrous coiled snake of the Serpentine, and a whole host of other fantastical creatures in their mission to stop the Shepherdess and prevent London slumbering for all eternity…

  • Big, bold, future classic storytelling for a new generation.
  • A London where magic sparks just beneath the surface – this book is set to ignite young imaginations.
  • The page-turning, empowering, heart-racing first book in a major new series.

More praise for Elemental Detectives:“Breathtaking, captivating, and magical. ... I really couldn’t put it down”Reya, The Week Junior’s Summer of Reading 2023“I loved reading about a re-imagining of London with so much invention and energy. The world-building is well…out of this world. Patrice Lawrence is amongst the greatest voices for young people writing today. I’m honoured to be a peer of hers.” – Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors“BRILLIANT… history and fantasy woven magnificently into a thrilling, magical adventure” – Sophie Anderson, author of The House with the Chicken Legs“A fantastic adventure, packed with rich world building and stunning elemental magic.”Peter Bunzl, author of Cogheart“Wow – The Elemental Detectives is a cracking fantasy. Clever, inventive, and pacy, with wonderfully drawn characters and a breathless plot. I want to read more!”Bali Rai, author of Mohinder’s War “The Elemental Detectives is a rip roaring magical adventure… Patrice Lawrence has done a marvellous job of building an imaginative and creative mythology which lurks just under the city streets. Catherine Johnson, author of Freedom “The Elemental Detectives is a richly imagined, inventive and immersive fantasy adventure.- L. Norry, author of Son of the Circus

Our October 2022 Ages 9-10 Book of the Month

Our book of the month for children ages 9+ is The Elemental Detectives, which is a stunning fantasy story written by award-winning and critically-acclaimed author Patrice Lawrence.

This beautifully written story is set in an ancient London filled with dragons, ghosts and water spirits – it is absolutely bursting with magic, bound to enchant fans of books such as Nevermore and Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines series.

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+

Product Details

Catalogue number

683 in EU Primary May 2024

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702315626

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

September 1st, 2022

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 4.4; Middle years; 11.0 points

Other details

  • 432 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Author/Illustrator

Patrice Lawrence

Photo of Patrice Lawrence

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought