The Case of the Chaos Monster: an Elemental Detectives Mystery Award-winning author by Patrice Lawrence (author)

Suitable for 9 - 10 years

Format
Paperback
eur prices
Price: 9.10 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.00 Switch to
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.82 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

A stunningly imagined, action-packed fantasy adventure for fans of Nevermoor, Neverwhere and Mortal Engines, from bestselling and award-winning author Patrice Lawrence.“A beautifully written book, bristling with magic, set in an ancient London filled with dragons, ghosts, water spirits, and a mysterious, creeping sleeping-sickness that must be fought by the brave young heroes. I loved it.” Cressida Cowell, Children’s Laureate & author of How to Train Your Dragon. Step into a London lit up by the Elemental spirits: the fiery Dragons, the airy Fumis, the watery Chads and the earthbound Magogs. Marisee and Robert – the Elemental Detectives – are back to solve another mystery on the streets of eighteenth century London. An orchestra explodes in Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens and suddenly the music of London disappears… and a terrifying monster stirs off the Greenwich peninsular, threatening to trample London underfoot. The detectives must track down the thief behind the music’s disappearance – via the Whispering Gallery of St Paul’s Cathedral, a Windmill-with-teeth on the Isle of Dogs and the dark streets of Soho… where a shadowy villain and his mechanical animal spies live.

  • Big, bold, future classic storytelling for a new generation.
  • A London where magic sparks just beneath the surface – this book is set to ignite young imaginations.
  • The second book in a major new series.

MORE PRAISE FOR ELEMENTAL DETECTIVES “I loved reading about a re-imagining of London with so much invention and energy. The world-building is well…out of this world. Patrice Lawrence is amongst the greatest voices for young people writing today. I’m honoured to be a peer of hers.” – Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors “BRILLIANT… history and fantasy woven magnificently into a thrilling, magical adventure” – Sophie Anderson, author of The House with the Chicken Legs “A fantastic adventure, packed with rich world building and stunning elemental magic.” – Peter Bunzl, author of Cogheart “Wow – The Elemental Detectives is a cracking fantasy. Clever, inventive, and pacy, with wonderfully drawn characters and a breathless plot. I want to read more!” – Bali Rai, author of Mohinder’s War “The Elemental Detectives is a rip roaring magical adventure… Patrice Lawrence has done a marvellous job of building an imaginative and creative mythology which lurks just under the city streets.” Catherine Johnson, author of Freedom “The Elemental Detectives is a richly imagined, inventive and immersive fantasy adventure.” - L. Norry, author of Son of the Circus

Product Details

Catalogue number

684 in EU Primary May 2024 and 2166 in Schools Catalogue 2024–25

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702315633

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

September 14th, 2023

Other details

  • 432 pages

Condition

New

Available in these packs

Author/Illustrator

Patrice Lawrence

Photo of Patrice Lawrence

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought