Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

We are only able to deliver orders to school addresses

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Want love? Want danger? Want your heart just a little bit broken? Try this gorgeous romance: Romeo and Juliet for the Second World War! It’s 1945, and Scottish farm girl Lorna is about to fall for the totally wrong boy – a German prisoner of war. Paul has been sent to work on her dad’s farm, helping the Allies dig for victory. While he sows cabbages, Lorna’s brothers are fighting and risking their lives. Needless to say, Lorna never dreams that love might be on the horizon. But as she gets to know Paul, her heart starts twisting up. Loving Paul is a no-no. It means losing her whole family. He’s totally off-limits. Trouble is, she can’t hate him. Ugh – why does love/life have to be this hard?

  • A breathtaking World War II romance – can love survive a war?
  • For fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Grey
  • Brilliantly evokes rural life in the dark shadow of global conflict
  • Reveals the human complexity behind the brutal face of war

“Historical fiction, forbidden romance, and a coming-of-age tale combine into a memorable story.” School Library Journal

“Shines a beautifully written light on the precarious nature of love and war.” Kathi Appelt

This book contains mature content.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780008213398

Publisher

HarperCollins

Date published

December 1st, 2016

Lexile measure

870L Lexiles are the global standard in reading assessment. They are unique as they are able to measure a child and a book on the same scale – ensuring the right book gets to the right child at the right time.

For more details see What is a lexile?.

Other details
  • 320 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought