Chocolate Milk, X-Ray Specs & Me!

by Bethany Walker (author) and Jack Noel (illustrator) (UK edition)

Suitable for 7 - 11 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This item has 4 stars of a maximum 5

Rated 4/5 from 3 ratings

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

Pamela Butchart meets Sam Copeland – like if Charlie changed into a chicken AND NEVER REALISES IT, in this hilarious, fantastic debut by Bethany Walker. 10-year-old Freddy Spicer writes letters to his parents – who he believes are working at a Brussels-sprouts farm in Outer Castonga, with no internet or phone access. In fact, Freddy’s parents are secret agents out of the country on a highly classified mission – but Freddy has NO IDEA! Throw in:

  • Grandad’s X-Ray specs;
  • A laser blaster that accidentally destroys the shed;
  • A strange new neighbour flirting with grandad; and
  • Suspicious goings-on at school . . .
Laugh-out-loud, high energy, fully illustrated fun for young readers!

Our January 2021 Ages 7-8 Book of the Month

For kids aged 7 and over, our January Book of the Month pick is the hilarious Chocolate Milk, X-Ray Specs and Me. This fantastic debut by Bethany Walker is perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Sam Copeland, and is guaranteed to keep you laughing from start to finish. Full of all the ingredients for a hysterical read – secret agent parents, a crazy grandad, laser blasters and disgusting Brussels sprouts!

This book is told entirely through different letters written by Freddy to his parents, which adds an extra engaging element. Jack Noel’s doodle-style illustrations are perfect to keep reluctant readers hooked and makes it accessible for those of all ages, and great for fans of Tom Gates. It’s laugh-out-loud, high energy, fully illustrated fun for young readers!

Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+
Su – Book Club Editor, Ages 7–11+

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9780702302800

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

January 7th, 2021

Other details

  • 288 pages

Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought