Rapunzella, Or, Don't Touch My Hair by Ella McLeod (author)

Suitable for 13 - 18 years

eur prices
Price: 9.95 Switch to £
gbp prices
Price: £7.65 Switch to
Product ordering

Buy this and your school gets €1.99 to spend on books

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Postage charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE postage to schools*
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

Delivery information and refund and returns policy

*We do not charge postage costs on your order, but border charges are payable and additional customs charges may be levied.

Product description

“a stunningly lyrical exploration of a teenager coming into her power as a young woman.” – United By PopA genre-bending YA that weaves together inner-city life and a wildly dangerous fairytale universe.Rapunzella is imprisoned in an enchanted forest made of her own Afro and the might of the evil King Charming seems unstoppable. But is it? Can Rapunzella use her power to change the future? You’re fifteen, you spend your time at school and at Val’s hair salon with Baker, Val’s son, who has eyes that are like falling off a cliff into space. The salon is a space of safety, but also of possibility and dreams… Dreams of hair so rich and alive that it grow upwards and outwards into a wild landscape, becomes trees and leaves, and houses birds and butterflies and all the secret creatures that belong in such a forest. Is there a future where such possibility and power is more than just a dream? Ella McLeod’s debut merges poetry and prose in a stunningly lyrical, heart-piercingly honest exploration of a teenager coming into her power as a young woman.

  • A bold new voice in YA fiction, Ella McLeod is a spoken word poet and actor.
  • Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Dean Atta and Kalynn Bayron.
  • A celebration of Black hair and the power of coming into your identity.

MORE PRIASE FOR RAPUNZELLA: OR DON’T TOUCH MY HAIR A Guardian BEST BOOKS pick – August 2022“Rapunzella cleverly weaves contemporary urban life with traditional fairy tale in a story that celebrates Black hair and identity.” - Just Imagine

Our October 2022 Teen Book of the Month

Our Teen book of the month is Rapunzella, Or, Don’t Touch My Hair from debut author Ella McLeod. This is a brilliantly imaginative twist on the classic Rapunzel story and fits right into the bestselling fractured fairy-tale trend. It brings important questions of identity and growing up to the surface, all whilst enchanting readers in a fairy-tale universe – a definite pick for any ‘to be read pile’!

Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+
Olivia - Book Club Editor, Ages 7+

Product Details

Catalogue number

908 in EU Primary May 2024

ISBN

9780702313868

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

July 7th, 2022

Other details

  • 432 pages

Condition

New

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

Customers also bought