We are continuing to fulfil all orders whilst rigorously following the safety advice of the government and Public Health England but due to the current situation you may experience longer delivery times than usual. If your delivery is going to a school and it’s closed or you need to make any adjustments to your delivery please contact us at intschool@scholastic.co.uk. Don’t forget that you can also run your Book Club online. remove

Shopping from United States? Please visit the correct site for your location.

Suitable for 9 - 12 years

This product is not currently available.

To help you find what you're looking for, see similar items below.

This product has not been rated yet.

0 reviews (Add a review)

Delivery information

  • FREE delivery for schools*
  • Delivery charges apply to home addresses
  • Delivery within 10 working days

Book Club orders

  • FREE delivery to schools
  • Books will be despatched after the school's order is confirmed

*We do not charge for delivery, but your order may incur additional customs costs.

Product description

Perfect for fans of Mark Haddon, David Almond and Jacqueline Wilson

How do you begin to tell your story when you can’t speak?

Ethan lives on the canal. He likes it there. He can go to the pond and catch newts and minnows. He can learn everything he needs to know from books and from his mum. No one there laughs at him because he doesn’t talk.

Ethan can’t remember exactly when he stopped talking or why. It is only when he meets Polly, a girl who has recently moved to the canal, that he begins to wish things were different.

Product Details

Format

Paperback

ISBN

9781407135502

Publisher

Scholastic

Date published

July 1st, 2013

Accelerated Reader

AR book level: 3.8; Middle years plus; 4.0 points

Other details
  • 288 pages
Condition

New

UK edition

Reviews

This product has not been reviewed yet.

Add a review

What kids think

  1. bookaholic202
    on 6 March 2014

    I was dying to know what happened to Ethan, but the ending was disappointing.

  2. hawk12
    on 18 February 2014

    A amazing book about a boy who has lost his voice. this book is sad and amazing